Day 4: it does not last forever.

It does not last forever. Nothing, that is. It hit me in a moment that I do not remember if it was a day or two ago. I was walking the familiar school hallway I have walked for four months now when I remembered the thing I had forgotten: sooner or later…it will end. My time here, my contract with the school, my living in Madrid, my being an English teacher. I was not trying to get myself depressed. The thought came to me all by itself, and it got me present.

I’ve been delaying blogging about my last day in Barcelona. I don’t want to let it go. Once I post this entry, my trip there is officially over, and I will be back. Back to Madrid, yes, that’s also awesome. But it is also true that dullness lurks everywhere. After every return my senses go on high alert, threatened by it.

Here’s a look at my last day in Barcelona, my girl-power trip, never short of magic. Nothing is mine to keep, not really, not in a perpetual way. So I am letting it all go. All the happiness, all the strength, and self-confidence Barcelona gave me. Cheers to the most wonderful city to have a long weekend affair with.

SDC10145
I had a few hours before I had to leave Barcelona, so I went out for breakfast.
SDC10146
The hostel staff recommended La Nena on Carrer de Ramon y Cajal in Gracia neighborhood.
SDC10147
The place was packed with locals and tourists, and the waiters spoke Catalan. I loved it!
SDC10148
I hardly understood the menu as it was all in Catalan. So I just pointed one of the options and hoped for the best…
SDC10149
It was fantastic! I 110% recommend this place! They also have vegan options. I took my time with every sip and bite. I had reached a high level of comfort in being alone in this city.
SDC10152
Then I took a long stroll down Passeig de Sant Joan all the way to…
SDC10155
…Arc de Triomf !
SDC10167
I got a little bit lost trying to find the iconic Palau de la Musica Catalana, but it was worth the baby struggle! For all art and music lovers, this is a must see UNESCO site.
SDC10175
El Born, the neighborhood where you want to go tapas hopping!
SDC10174
Because Spain ❤

 

“I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next. Delicious Ambiguity.” – Gilda Radner

2 thoughts on “Day 4: it does not last forever.

Leave a Reply

