A reign for the Inner Child

A regular good old tourist walks by, distracted by either the size or beauty of Buckingham Palace. In the mist of her sightseeing concentration, she did not feel the arms and legs moving up and down nor the shaking buttocks of my best friend right behind her. It’s called a Dance Dare, and we got it from Ellen Degeneres (youtube it for better understanding). And that’s what we were up to the day after my arrival.

Once we made it out of the airport -which at that point felt like I was being liberated from death row – we went home. My best friend’s family was out of town, and we would be staying in their flat for the first two nights. This was a cozy, tiny, ground flat (which they moved out of during our trip for another cozy, less tiny, basement flat). In my 2 days of no sleep trance, I appreciated little of my surroundings, which were enveloped by the 11:00 pm darkness.

After approximately 18 hours of good old sleep, food, and girl talk, my suitcase arrived! I was still very much under the weather, but I could not wait to see things and explore. We went to Buckingham Palace, which was a short bus ride away from the flat. It was a very neat way to kick off our adventure, yet I did not find this giant property to be as astounding…I guess I needed to see it with carriages led by white horses and floor draping gowns. But I did love the details of the gates!

Buckingham Palace
Buckingham Palace
this was my favorite shot
this was my favorite shot
interesting concept
interesting concept

 

18 Guard

Truth be told, the real fun came with the Dance Dares! (previously mentioned) The palace is filled with tourists like us…peasants with cameras, feeling safe, distracted, and oblivious to our prank. One of us would pretend to hold the camera to take a picture of the other, who was strategically standing behind our prank victim, putting J.Lo to shame with her dance moves. We made this a little trip tradition, and did Dance Dares at most of our important sight-seeing locations. Yes. It is all on video, and it hilarious.

Not only my body, but my mind was long gone from Florida and all things pertaining to my “real life.” This was a reign for the inner child.

and we did get a little paparazzi from this one. What? people don't do mid air shots in England?
and we did get a little paparazzi from this one. What? people don’t do mid air shots in England?
she always climbs the trees
she always climbs the trees

We took a little walk down the Diana Princess of Wales Memorial Walk…or at least we thought we did…we still are not sure if we understood the map. But it is in Green Park, and no matter where you walk here, it is lovely! Just grab a book and coffee (I highly recommend COSTA) and you got yourself a few hours of that luxurious free travel bliss.

 

What we assumed to be the memorial walk for Princess Diana
What we assumed to be the memorial walk for Princess Diana

 

A statue for Queen Victoria
A statue for Queen Victoria
She looks like she needs a Dance Dare
She looks like she needs a Dance Dare

And so we went home. With our hearts joyfully aware of the adventure ahead! We rushed to pick out our perfect outfits, checked the weather in Paris, and hoped for a good night rest.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“And we’ll never be royals. It don’t run in our blood. That kind of luxe just ain’t for us. We crave a different kind of buzz. Let me be your ruler. You can call me Queen Bee, and baby I rule…Let me live that fantansy.” -LORDE

Leave a Reply

